in which I look back on a turbulent week

So the first week in Boston has come and gone.

And kids, Boston and I did not get off to a great start.

It was a lonely week, an isolated week, as most first weeks are. It was a stressful week, a week of not knowing where anything is1. It was a week of me spending a lot of quality time with The Book2 and the Doctor3. It was a week of fighting with buses and waiting at bus stops and swearing at buses as they pulled away with me running after them. It was a week of worrying about tomorrow.

Because tomorrow, the masters4 program begins. In the words of Nemo, “First day of school, first day of school, first day of school!” And in the words of me “Panicpanicpanicpanic.” Not that I haven’t already started schoolwork – I have been knee deep in reading for the past week5. As is my custom, I am alternately freaking out and chomping at the bit because I’m so unbelievably excited. No going back from here, though. No more talking about “Someday, when I’m a writer.” That all starts tomorrow. Tomorrow I have to stop talking and start doing.

Brace yourself for awesome.

Even though things here got off to a rocky start, I’m looking ahead with cautious optimism. There are awesome things in my future – including a Florence+The Machine concert, a trip to Amherst, and KidLitCon in New York City6 – and I am looking forward to getting better acquainted with Boston. We will be friends yet!

  1. This statement applies to both Boston and the kitchen in my house.
  2. Work in progress, unnamed, don’t ask me about it, I won’t tell you, but I figure I should start working on something since someday this will maybe hopefully be my job I had to start at some point.
  3. Doctor Who – don’t panic, grandma.
  4. Point of clarification – when you’re talking about a master’s degree, where the hell does the apostrophe go? Is there an apostrophe? Please help.
  5. What sadistic teacher assigns 400 pages of reading for the first day? Welcome to the first day of the next two years of your life.
  6. Which means guess whose childhood dream to see Newsies on stage is coming true!
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

