in which I surrive a hurricane

Hello, hello, posting from the eye of the storm here!

Alright, not the eye anymore. Never the eye ever really, compared to what’s going on in other parts of the country. But Boston was certainly hurricane-adjacent yesterday, and I definitely survived to blog about it!

This is the obligatory I survived Hurricane Sandy post. Not only did I make it out the other side, but my area of the world got off fairly easy. We didn’t lose power. No damage, other than the large tree that fell down in our yard and very narrowly missed my bedroom window. No major issues at all. Not that it was fun listening to wind so strong it sounded like a train accident outside your window all day. But we are still here, unbroken.

Image

I spent a day inside being alternately anxiety-ridden and fascinated by a storm the scale of which I’d never seen before, watching the new season of Downton Abbey, and lamenting the fact that I was woefully unprepared for this hurricane and didn’t have any diet coke in the house. But I got the day off from work and school and an extension on a paper I hadn’t written.

So it isn’t all bad news.

But I know that things back here in the east are pretty messed up. From the sound of it, a lot of places are in shambles. Even here, the evidence of the storm is everywhere. The standard “how are you?” greeting today has been replaced with a “how did you survive the hurricane?” There are people here without power, with trees on their houses, with flood waters in their front rooms. I am grateful I am not one of them, and I am thinking about them and wishing there was something I could do.

I recently had the opportunity to speak to a classmate who was in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina. We talked about her experience, and I asked her about the general atmosphere there. She said that yes, things were rough, but that the news organizations chose only to focus on the bad things that happened. She said that Katrina brought out not only looters and murderers, but also an influx of people helping each other and reaching out. Let’s hope that Sandy does the same. Tragedies and extreme circumstances reveal either the worst or the best in people. In coming days, we need to do everything we can to support the recovery effort and make sure that we are the best.

Because really, we’re all trying to put things back together as best we can.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

