in which I illustrate Harry Potter

I am not an artist.

I have always wanted to be an artist, but I possess no skills in this particular area. And my sister, the MT, does, which has always been intimidating. If we hung my paintings next to hers in the house…well, let’s just say there would be a clear winner. It would be like hanging your five year old’s drawings up beside a Van Gough. The MT is a very good artist.

Another of the MT’s many talents is the ability to read aloud and change her voice. This most likely stems from early exposure to the Harry Potter audiobooks and their fabulous narrator, Jim Dale. When the MT was little, she used to toddle around the house with her Sesame Street tape player in tow, listening to Harry Potter on repeat. It wasn’t a long jump to go from listening to imitating.

When I arrived home last month, I discovered that my family had started a new tradition in my absence: every night they gather and the MT reads aloud from Harry Potter in the tradition of her idol, Mr. Dale. It is most excellent, and fortunately they were just starting Chamber of Secrets when I arrived.

Aside from not being an artist, there is another thing I am not very good at, and that is sitting still and listening1. I loved hearing the MT read, but gosh darnit sitting still is hard! I knew I had to find some way to entertain myself while MT was reading, but it had to be something that I could still listen to the story while I did it.

So, on a random impulse, I started drawing one night2. I drew what the MT was reading us in Chamber of Secrets3. I used to do this when I was a kid and my dad would read aloud to me, and after a few chapters, I started really enjoying it. My family enjoyed it too…mostly for the comedic value.

I am fortunate enough to live in a home where my mother puts up with my shenanigans and my father doesn’t say much, so when, in an overacted show of pride in my first drawing, I slapped it on the wall with some tape, it got left there. I hung every subsequent picture beside it, resulting in a wall of our entryway being covered in Chamber of Secrets art that looks like it was drawn by a demented seven year old.

Last night we finished the book. I hung my last picture on the wall, surveyed my handiwork, and realized that I have never been so proud of anything in my entire life4. So what better to do with something I am insanely proud of than share it with the virtual world?

And so, I present to you, alternate chapter art for Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by Mackenzi Lee. Watch out, Mary Grand-Pre. You have been dethroned.

  1. If you have ever had a conversation with me, you may notice that I am perpetually fiddling or doodling or journaling. Seriously. Can’t just listen. Too hard.
  2. Again, and I cannot put too fine a point on this: I am not an artist.
  3. My primary medium being sharpies and one erasable pen.
  4. This is an exaggeration. But not by much.
IMG_6673

The first drawing. Before I decided I was drawing chapter by chapter. So chapter 1 has no art.

IMG_6674

IMG_6675

IMG_6676

I am absurdly proud of that photographer.

IMG_6677

ignore the incorrect number

IMG_6678

IMG_6679

IMG_6681

the MT loves Dean Thomas in this one. She also says Mrs. Norris looks like a werewolf. So her opinion is invalid.

IMG_6682

this was voted family favorite.

IMG_6683

IMG_6684

This lettering is my greatest achievement to date.

IMG_6686

IMG_6687

IMG_6688

My original drawing for this chapter was panned. I was forced to redo it, and I am much happier with this one.

IMG_6689

My father and the MT maintain it looks like Aragog is carrying eggs on his back. THEY ARE HIS EYES. Obviously.

IMG_6690

IMG_6691

“You shouldn’t have drawn his eyes! Now we’re going to be petrified if we look at it!!!” -The MT, in a panic

IMG_6692

Just to clarify, I drew Harry’s thumb on the wrong side of his hand. He is not, contrary to what my dad says, flipping Lucius Malfoy the bird. This is family-friendly artwork.

Which one was your favorite? Or were they all too beautiful for words? Tell me in comments!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “in which I illustrate Harry Potter

  1. heidikins says:

    This? This is awesome.

    xox

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    I like the moaning mrytle one too :)

  3. Magna says:

    I see that you are entirely capable of illustrating a children’s book. Preferably one you have written. Not too shabby, you of many talents!

  4. b.h.quinn says:

    These are awesome. I love them. :) I can’t really choose my favorite since they all seem to show the spirit of the chapter so well.

  5. […] Dr. Pepper. But I was very proud of the MT and her skills! Between fence painting, chalk art, and the Harry Potter art, it has been an unexpectedly artsy […]

  6. liana says:

    all too beautiful for words!

Leave a Reply

