in which I illustrate Harry Potter Part 2

In case you’re new here, my wonderful awesome crazy family decided sometime while I was in Boston that they all end up paying better attention to their nightly scripture reading if the scriptures were replaced with Harry Potter. So every night before bed, the MT reads a chapter of Harry Potter out loud. Because I am fairly ADD, I am really bad at sitting still for this long, despite my great love of Harry Potter. So I decided that while she read, I was going to draw. In spite of not being in any way artistically inclined.

A few weeks ago, I shared my frankly astounding Chamber of Secrets Art. And naturally after Chamber of Secrets comes Prisoner of Azkaban, the greatest of all the Harry Potter books (seriously, every time I read this book, I am floored by the plot twist and how effortlessly it is executed. Good old JK). And since we finished last night, I thought I’d slap the art up on the blog in hopes of perking up your Monday.

These are not great quality photos since all the drawings are taped up in our entryway (my parents are very long suffering and tolerant of the MT and my particular brand of crazy. Though actually, I think they feed it). I realize I could have taken them down and scanned them for higher quality, but I spent so much time just getting the bloody things up on the wall I wasn’t about to take them down. Also, I felt shoddy drawings deserve shoddy quality photos. At least I am consistent.

And so, without further ado, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. As illustrated by a girl who can’t draw.

Image

I even got new markers for this one! A 12 pack of Crayola Washables! Takes me back to third grade….

Image

Image

this is actually version 2.0, since the first drawing fell off the wall, got stuck to the dog’s paw, and then she walked around with it stuck to her. By the time we realized, she had clawed it.

Image

Image

Image

I made a huge artistic leap forward in this photo, as I drew both people in profile, and people sitting down, which are two things I usually avoid at all costs. Though I realize now Ron has no legs….

Image

Image

Dean Thomas appears again! Just for the MT.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Upon finishing this one, the MT immediately asked, “Why does Malfoy have a man purse?” I decided to roll with it.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

My brush with surrealism.

Image

In the tradition of the great Lucious Malfoy flip off in the last chapter of Chamber (that resulted from me drawing Harry’s thumb on backwards). This one was intentional.

Vote for your favorite in comments! Or feel free to give your own awards, if “favorite” doesn’t quite cover it. Best color, best technique, best use of a man purse….etc.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “in which I illustrate Harry Potter Part 2

  1. liana says:

    um… “by a girl who can’t draw” ???? are you kidding me? i love all of these, the details are great! and i also appreciate your amazing handwriting and chapter title fonts! you should send these to j.k. and have her republish the harry books!

Leave a Reply

