in which i offer an explanation

So I haven’t been great at blogging lately. And I’m afraid it’s going to get worse before it gets better.

The simple fact of the matter is that life has suddenly gotten busy. I have less than a month to go in Salt Lake, so I’m on overdrive at the Friend trying to get everything done before I go1. I also just finished my first round of revisions with my brand-new agent, which was wildly fun but sucked up a lot of my time. On top of that, I have to finish a first draft of my thesis by September 12. Which maybe doesn’t sound like that big of a deal…but it’s still got a long way to go, and all the words I have to spare will probably be going into that rather than into the blog.

So I don’t know how much I’ll be around for the next month. Four Book Friday will continue, because Four Book Friday is awesome3. When I return, there will be a end-of-summer GIVEAWAY4 and we will get back to business! I may be dropping by between now and then, so keep an eye out. Or subscribe. I’d love it if you would subscribe….

Until then, enjoy these picture from a steampunk convention that I attended with The MT and our friend Rose Tyler in hopes of gaining inspiration for my thesis, which is a steampunk novel. It ended up being one of the weirdest and most awesome things we’ve ever done….

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Also, we may or may not have been dressed like Doctor Who companions. And we may or may not have met the 4th and 7th Doctors…

Image

  1. If you want to see my stories, which are excellent, start looking around next May. That’s when my bylines will hopefully start popping up!
  2. This deadline is self-imposed…but it still needs to get done.
  3. And thanks everyone for your awesome feedback about it!
  4. Seriously, I mean it this time.
Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “in which i offer an explanation

  1. Rachel says:

    I love all the steam punk style. Can you recommend some resources from someone who is interested in reading about it?

    • MackenziLee says:

      Sure thing! Are you interested in reading Steampunk books or are you more interested in the fashion/design end?

      • Rachel says:

        A little bit of both. I’m curious about the whole movement.

      • MackenziLee says:

        Okay, let’s see. There is a lot of great steampunk lit out there, but mostly I only know YA titles, because that’s what I read! (also it is the best) I love…

        Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld
        Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Denard
        Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger
        Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
        The Unnaturalists by Tiffany Trent
        Clockwork by Phillip Pullman (also His Dark Materials trilogy is vaguely steampunk)

        If you’re looking for sort of general reference stuff, I’d just try the internet! Steampunk.com is helpful, and I’ve actually found a lot of great art and costumes on Pinterest.
        Hope that’s helpful!

Leave a Reply

