in which I complete an A to Z Survey

I said I wasn’t going to blog this month, but usually I lie and this is one of those times. Mostly because I saw this adorable A to Z book survey on one of my favorite book review blogs, A Reader of Fictions, and originated by Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner, both of which are awesome book review blogs. I had to play because it just looked too fun. Also, procrastination, and it’s easier to do this while watching Doctor Who than actually work on my novel.

A to Z Book Survey

Author You’ve Read the Most Books From:
I’ve read everything John Green has ever written, including his zombie novella. I think there’s probably an author with more books I’ve read, but John Green was the first author that I went out of my way to read his canon.

Best Sequel Ever:
Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor is the first that comes to mind. Also Behemoth by Scott Westerfeld, sequel to Leviathan.

Currently Reading:
Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt; The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt by Edmund Morris; Paradise Lost by John Milton

Drink of Choice While Reading:
Diet Coke. Ask me a hard one.

E-reader or Physical Book?
Physical book. Do not own an e-reader. Will not own an e-reader until there are no physical books left. Which, according to Doctor Who, is never.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:
Augustus Waters from The Fault in Our Stars. Oh. My. Yes.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan and Graceling by Kristen Cashore were two books I avoided for a while simply because of how popular they were, and I generally find that those mass market, six-figure deals aren’t quite to my taste–I usually need a little more depth. But I ended up really liking both of them.

Hidden Gem Book:
The first one I thought of was Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson. It is a quietly beautiful and brilliant little book.

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:
Reading the Jedi Apprentice series as a kid with my dad (really); Reading and being obsessed with The Thief Lord in middle school; Finding a bookish, ordinary girl who learns to stand up for herself in Jane Eyre; Reading Stargirl the summer before my senior year of college and remembering how much I loved children’s books; Reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor and Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma back to back, and then immediately applying for my MFA because they taught me not all YA is vampires. Mostly, it is beautiful, thoughtful, and creative.

Just Finished:
Divergent by Veronica Roth. I went in expecting to hate it. And though I could drive an L Train through the plot holes in it and almost threw it across the room a few times because ohmygosh can all these stupid YA clichés please die already, I was absurdly engaged for all 500 pages.
Also, Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. Which made me sob uncontrollably on my lunch break.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:
I’ll read most anything. Don’t really go for bodice rippers or the 50 Shades of Grey types, but I’ve got favorite books in every genre.

Longest Book You’ve Read:
Gone With the Wind clocking in at 1037 pages. This is a big deal for me, since I usually don’t read books that are longer than 400 pages. I like short things.

Major Book Hangover Because Of:
The Night Cirucs by Erin Morgenstern gave me book hangover for almost all of Christmas break last year. So did Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Denard, which was the book that snapped me out of my Night Circus hangover and then immediately plunged me into another.

Number of Bookcases You Own:
Just one in my apartment in Boston, but it is crammed slammed jammed full.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
Only one? I revisit a lot of books. I read Code Name Verity three times this year. I reread One Day by David Nicholls every few months, because I start to miss the main characters like I would miss friends.

Preferred Place to Read:
Anywhere with a book.

Reading Regret:
I don’t think I regret reading anything. Every book is a lesson for a writer, either as a good thing or bad. I do regret how I used to feel the need to finish every book. I spent a lot of time reading things I didn’t like. I also regret not remembering until I was in college that reading could be more than torture inflicted by teachers.

Series You Started and Need to Finish:
I never finished Series of Unfortunate Events. Not sure I feel the need to finish it though. I don’t usually read series. It has to be a five star book for me to pick up the second one.

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books:
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein; Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak; Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Unapologetic Fangirl for:
Code Name Verity. As most book-related things, this is turning into an exercise of how many times I can mention Code Name Verity in one post.

Very Excited for This Release More Than All the Others:
Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein; Stoker and Holmes by Colleen Gleason; Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. Wait, are these upcoming releases, or releases ever? Because I basically had a slow-motion meltdown waiting for Days of Blood and Starlight, and I’m going through it again waiting for Dreams of Gods and Monsters.

Worst Bookish Habit:
Skimming. Grad school turned me into a terrible skimmer. I’m bored—I skim. And I inevitably miss things and have to go back and no time is saved at all.

X Marks the Spot (Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book):
Ah but all my books are in Boston! Okay, using my shelf at my parent’s house where I keep all my lesser favorites and duplicate copies: Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbottson. Aw I forgot I love that book…

Your Latest Book Purchase:
Transparent by Natalie Whipple

ZZZ-Snatcher Book (Last Book That Kept You Up Way Late):
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. It was one of those, “Gotta work tomorrow, so I’ll just read a few pages…JK nope, it’s 4 am.”
And then this was me all the next day at work…

WORTH IT!

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “in which I complete an A to Z Survey

  1. I can’t wait to read Days of Blood and Starlight! I started it but time got in the way. I think I’ll finish it soon though. And ughhh Divergent. I feel like the only one on the planet who doesn’t absolutely love that book. Let me know if you read the second one. Ha.

    • MackenziLee says:

      I definitely didn’t love Divergent–the world building made absolutely no sense, and I took a lot of issue with the plot holes. But it was exactly what I need every once in a while: a fun escape. But I will not be picking up the second. It takes a lot for me to read a sequel, and I didn’t like it *that* much.

      Days of Blood and Starlight is….wow. Exquisite. Get thee to a library and finish it! :)

  2. Christina says:

    Ooh, John Green. Classy if not plentiful. :-p I haven’t read Zombicorns, but I want tooooo!

    Oh, I still need to read Days of Blood and Starlight. I’m the worst.

    Well, you win with applying for your MFA because of YA. That’s pretty important. Good books too!

    Bleh Divergent.

    Code Name Verity three times in one year is pretty impressive. I’ve done basically no rereading since I started blogging. I think I’ve reread three books maybe? X_X

    Skimming is only an issue for me if I’m really bored or if I’m super into the book, when I find myself accidentally jumping paragraphs because I’m in such a rush to finish.

    • MackenziLee says:

      I’m starting to feel in the minority about Divergent :)

      I can see how blogging would suck up a lot of your rereading time, but there is something so wonderful about rereading a book you love. It’s like coming home after a long trip.

      I definitely do the jumping ahead when I just really want to know what happens! Skimming tends to only happen when a book is really bad or really good :)

      Thanks for posting your survey–I loved reading your answers and it was fun to do my own! Also I am a tremendous fan of your blog. Especially the coversnark :)

  3. […] I put together my end of the year wrap up. I did an A to Z book quiz earlier this year and it was fun, so I did A to Z categories again, since it made it easier to […]

  4. Mabel says:

    Yay Gone With the Wind! :)

Leave a Reply

