Four Book Friday: The MT

Welcome back to Four Book Friday, a continuing series where writers and readers tell us about four books that changed their life! This week’s post comes from the elusive and mysterious MT, sister of mine as well as reader and writer. Here are the four books that changed her life!

Oh hello there. You may know me as “The MT” or the little sister of the Mackenzi Lee, both of which I am. Anywho, here’s my four book Friday:

2Harry Potter (series) by J. K. Rowling – The Harry Potter books were the books of my childhood. I have a very distinct memory of carrying around my yellow bus tape player and listening to the end of the first one on audio book over and over and over… To me, the Harry Potter series are like a close friend who has always been there for me. I read Harry Potter when I’m feeling scared, or stressed or angry, or even when I’m happy. I’ve also been able to make friends through our mutual love of Harry Potter. This series has been a rock in my life and I really don’t know what I would do without it’s characters, white and story.

https://i0.wp.com/d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1268924930l/7788995.jpgThe Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick – I don’t even have enough words for how much this book has impacted my life. The Silver Linings Playbook is essentially the journal of a man named Pat who has a very severe bipolar disorder. Although I am not bipolar like Pat, I do suffer from an anxiety disorder and I learned a lot from how Pat deals with his illness. After reading this book, I found myself rethinking how I think and how I deal with my own illness. This book also had the remarkable ability to voice thoughts or events that I have dealt with, but haven’t quite been able to explain or share. Pat’s mind allowed me to express what I wanted to express and helped me change how I deal with things.

The Mark of Athena (The Heroes of Olympus, #3)The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan – The Percy Jackson series is another one where I feel like all of the main characters are my best friends because I’ve been reading this series since I was quite young. However, I wanted to specifically highlight The Mark Of Athena because I read it at a time in my life when I had been suffering from severe artist’s block. After reading this one, I started drawing again, mainly the characters from the book and my favorite scenes. This book got my drawing again and got me sucked down the fan-art rabbit hole on Tumblr. This event also inspired a theme for my IB Art portfolio, which eventually led my IB diploma.

8071467The Watchmen’s Rattle by Rebecca Costa– Okay, so I actually haven’t read this book all the way through, but in my junior year of high school in English class, all our reading was based around conservation philosophies. This reading unit played a huge role in my choice to study Environmental Studies in college. I chose Costa’s book, because hers was my favorite of the books we read. Her writing and philosophies are brilliant.

The MT also happens to be an awesome artists. Here is some fanart she did for Mark of Athena and Harry Potter.

ImageImageImage

When not playing Quidditch, practicing spells, solving cases with Sherlock Holmes, traveling in the TARDIS with the Doctor, the MT can usually be found slaying dragons, fighting monsters, traversing a galaxy far, far away, or saving the world. She attends Utah State University where she studies Environmental Studies. In her spare time, she enjoys drawing, playing music , writing, and being a nerd.

 

 

Want more Four Book Friday? Here are more posts in the series:

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Four Book Friday: The MT

  1. […] The MT To me, the Harry Potter series are like a close friend who has always been there for me. I read Harry Potter when I’m feeling scared, or stressed or angry, or even when I’m happy. Read more of her thoughts on Harry Potter, as well as The Silver Linings Playbook, The Mark of Athen… […]

Leave a Reply

