Four Book Friday Wrap Up

It has been a great summer of reading and life changing and Four Book Friday! Thanks everyone who participated, and thanks everyone who sent so much positive feedback about the series! It was really fun to read everyone’s answers and the comments they inspired!

The end of the summer does not necessarily mean the end of Four Book Friday—they may still pop up, and if you want to do one, please get in touch! It just won’t be a weekly series anymore, since it was intended to last only through summer.

To wrap up our series, here are some of the awesome thoughts from our guest posters! And if you read all the way to the end, you might just find a giveaway.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5)The MT
“To me, the Harry Potter series are like a close friend who has always been there for me. I read Harry Potter when I’m feeling scared, or stressed or angry, or even when I’m happy.”
Read more of her thoughts on Harry Potter, as well as The Silver Linings Playbook, The Mark of Athena, and The Watchman’s Rattle

Rebecca Wells
“The circumstances by which I make my way back to these familiar pages don’t matter — in every encounter, Walk Two Moons makes me feel less alone in the world. And isn’t that what extraordinary books are supposed to do?”
Read more of her thoughts on Walk Two Moons, as well as Snow White, Blood Red, Sabriel, and The Truth About Forever

Hope Was HereTracy Marchini
“To me, Nancy was fearless — the kind of teen I wanted to be. “
Read more of her thoughts on Nancy Drew, as well as Chatty Chipmunk’s Nutty Day, A Treasury of Fairytales, and Pride and Prejudice

Mariah Manley
“Everyone is flawed and everyone carries a burden, but flawed people banding together in a single cause are capable of great things. I believe in the power of community because of Hope Was Here.”
Read more of her thoughts on Hope Was Here, as well as How Green Was My Valley, The Grapes of Wrath, and Fanny’s Dream

Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, #1)Lisa Palin
“Watching Anne struggle to be herself and to be worthy of love, only to learn that they were one and the same, taught me that wishing and wanting are fine, that doing (even with mistakes) is better, and that being me was okay because people who are worthy of me were the ones who would love me for it.”
Read more of her thoughts on There’s a Monster at the End of this Book, The Grounding of Group 6, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Greg Batcheler
“Beyond the descriptions, within every book I found a new cast of characters in that old, familiar world that captured my imagination. These everyday, unlikely heroes stood for epic and noble causes. I cheered when they won, I cried when they were defeated, and I cheered again when they persevered.”
Read more of his thoughts on Redwall, as well as Frog and Toad, Animorphs, and Star Trek

The Little PrinceCaitlin Jacobs
“As I cried over the last chapter, I wondered how Cassandra had grown so much without anyone even noticing. It made me realize how much growing I could do, even if it didn’t look to anyone else like anything was happening.”
Read more of her thoughts on I Capture the Castle, as well as In Defense of Food, Mistborn, and The Name of the Wind

Smatt Read
“What had meant to be a short literary foray turned into several hours of adventure and quiet revelations. The Little Prince gave me solace during a confusing and emotional time and made it possible for me to see a little more clearly the beauty there is in life.”
Read more of his thoughts on A Little Prince, as well as Black and White, Maze, and Trumpet of the Swan

If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)Jenny Kaczorowski
“I think this is the book that taught me to look for magic in the every day.”
Read more of her thoughts on A Little Princess, The Complete Beatrix Potter, Twilight, and 1916

Katy Upperman
“If I Stay one of the few books I’ve reread, and I still recommend it often. It’s the novel that made me long to write, to craft a story that might impact a reader as profoundly as this one impacted me.”
Read more of her thoughts on If I Stay, as well as Blubber, A Thousand Splendid Suns, and the Face on the Milk Carton

Stargirl (Stargirl, #1)

Krista Van Dolzer
“I didn’t spend a ton of time in high school trying to fit in, but Stargirl made me wish I could go back and do it over. I thought I had to be effervescent and exciting to be of any worth in high school, but really, I didn’t have to be. I could have just been myself.”
Read more of her thoughts on Stargirl, as well as The Giver, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Quiet

Hannah Thompson
“After hearing one too many horror stories about rude students, school shootings, and unhelpful administrators, it’s hard to forge ahead in the education program with a positive “I can make a difference!” attitude. Thanks to Will Grayson, Will Grayson…I feel more confident heading into the classroom armed with knowledge and faith in my subject.”
Read more of her thoughts on Will Grayson, Will Grayson, as well as Rumble Fish, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and Stotan!

Will Grayson, Will GraysonClarissa Hadge
“As a writer, I strive to create strong female characters like Alanna, characters who stick to their convictions, and who are not only as capable in harrowing situations as their male colleagues, but that are even tougher and better.”
Read more of her thoughts on Alanna, the First Adventure, as well as A Wrinkle in Time, North to Freedom, and Mi Revalueshanary Fren

Thanks for joining us this summer for Four Book Friday! And….oh yeah, I did promise you a giveaway if you stuck around until the end….so HERE IT IS! The giveaway I actually promised at the beginning of the summer, now officially online!  Just click on the Rafflecopter giveaway link to be entered for a chance to win one of the Four Book Friday books as well as a $10 giftcard to Barnes and Noble!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Four Book Friday Wrap Up

  1. Kate Mikell says:

    I’ll miss Four Book Friday–so many of my favorite books from childhood (and now) popped up on this list, it’s not even funny! I think one of the great things about reading is the connection to humanity you feel when you find out someone has read and loved the same books as you. :]

  2. Carson Center says:

    I have loved reading all of these comments about wonderful books. I definitely have a few more on my list. And…maybe I can win one??? :-)

  3. Jan says:

    Rats, MacKenz! I was going to surprise you by actually sending you my four books one of these days. Let me know when you start your great series up again.

  4. Such a fun series, Mackenzi! And thanks for hosting the giveaway!

  5. […] we begin, don’t forget to read the Four Book Friday Wrap Up and enter my very first GIVEAWAY where you could win one of the Four Book Friday books and a […]

  6. […] summer, you may remember the Four Book Friday blog series, in which a series of lovely guest posters talked about the four books that changed […]

Leave a Reply

