in which December comes and goes

Every day for the past month, I have woken up with the same thought: Today will be the day I update my blog.

But that didn’t happen. December is not a great month for blogging. December’s not a great month for doing anything other than eating yourself sick and pulling your hair out over Christmas gifts.

So here’s a super quick recap of some of the things I did in December that did not involve binge eating or stress shopping:

–The MT and I explored Boston together. And let me tell you, you have not explored Boston until you have explored it with the MT.

IMG_0779

Seriously, friends. It was a time. We committed treason (see above), skated in a cemetery, wrote on museum walls, went to a Speakeasy, ate food in weird places,  wore strange hats, and were transcendental. Among other activities.

IMG_0829

–Flew home and celebrated Christmas with my family in Utah. Which included my mom giving us a knitted sorting hat from Harry Potter. We also got a Darth Vader voice changer mask. Not knitted.

IMG_0907

–Blind taste tested 13 sugar cookies on a quest to find the most delicious sugar cookie in the Salt Lake Valley.

IMG_0919

Seriously, it was a blind taste test. As in we were blind folded.

IMG_0924

The best sugar cookie in Utah, in case you were wondering, can be found at One Smart Cookie.

–Attended a Renaissance-themed murder mystery party dressed as Shakespeare.

IMG_0928

The  MT also came along, dressed as an Irish mercenary/Hamlet/Ronan Lynch.

IMG_0931

–Ate at my favorite Utah restaurant, Cafe Rio, multiple times with 14, fresh from her Norwegian adventure. No picture. Because I don’t believe in taking pictures of your food.

–On that subject, I ate too much good food.

IMG_0885

This is one of many examples. Resisting posting all of them.

–Read some great books out loud with the MT. Then made sweaters based on them, a picture of which was then retweeted by the author of said books. (MY LIFE IS NOT SUPER EXCITING, OKAY!? THESE ARE THE BIG MOMENTS OF MY LIFE!)

Fotor010410445

–Saw friends.

–Saw my dog.

–Saw my mom holding a bowl for water so my dog would be more comfortable when she drinks.

IMG_0965

–Was given a Norwegian Christmas troll to protect me. I think he’s actually meant to cause mischief, but he loves me, and so I have trained him to be my guardian.

IMG_0972

His name is Chainsaw.

–Was given some excellent fan art by the MT. Bonus points if you can name either of these characters. 

IMG_0974

And I think that was December. I’m gonna be better about blogging from here on out. I made a pact with myself. I said, “Self, you should be better about blogging.” So that’s gonna happen. I’m even gonna go out of my way to do strange things that will result in good stories for the blog.

It’ll happen. Just wait. You’ll see.

Happy 2014.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “in which December comes and goes

  1. Toot says:

    So, I really like that red sweater the MT is wearing. Can you tell me how you made it? I’m really curious how you did it….it looks amazing! Also, your dog is so adorable! I think your December looks pretty AWESOME!!!!!

  2. 14 says:

    “I don’t believe in taking pictures of my food. So here’s a picture of my food.”

  3. 14 says:

    Also, I hope Chainsaw makes regular appearances on the blog!

  4. Jaime Morrow says:

    Love the Aglionby sweater! And that sorting hat is unbelievably awesome. Looks like you had a wonderful December. :-)

Leave a Reply

