In which the book deal is announced

If you have been around me at all this past week, you might have found yourself asking questions such as, “Why does Mackenzie seem so happy?” “Why has all her usual grump and cynicism been replaced by aggressive cheer?” “Why is she smiling at me like that? It’s creepy. Make her stop smiling at me like that.”

Well at long last, I can tell you! I can finally explain why I have spent the last week vomiting happiness on everyone I came in contact with.

Two words, friends: book deal.

Book. Deal.

I’ll let the official announcement from today’s Publisher’s Marketplace1 explain further:

image2

So this is happening! It is a real thing and not just the fever dream I have sustained for the past three years!

What does this mean for you, my lovely friends? Well, two things, really. One, you all are going to have to put up with my Frankenstein obsession for at least another year and a half, so prepare yourself for every conversation we have—online or off—to include some sort of tangential reference to Shelley. Two, and more importantly, it means that at some point next fall, you will be able to walk into your local independent bookstore, mosey over to the YA section, and pick up a shiny hard-backed edition of my incredibly weird post-modern revisionist steampunk-lite meta-gothic-horror Frankenstein reimagining2.

My novel is going to be published3!!! There are not enough exclamation points in the world to convey how I feel about this!! I have been dancing to myself all week, and now you all can dance with me!

young-frankenstein-dancing-young-frankenstein-26789782-500-265

Friends, I am SO EXCITED. And even that is an understatement.

 

  1. Publisher’s Marketplace! I feel so fancy and legit!
  2. And at an undisclosed time after that, you will be able to buy ANOTHER book of mine. Because did you see—two book deal! That means I get to write another one!
  3. By, in case you missed it in the PM announcement, Katherine Tegen Books, a YA imprint of HarperCollins. You might have heard of them. They publish a little book called Divergent.

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

23 thoughts on “In which the book deal is announced

  1. Holy awesome! Congratulations! I can’t wait to read this!

  2. mummsie says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I can’t wait to hear who narrates the audiobook! :)

  3. ewein2412 says:

    wow, AWESOME and congratulations!

    • MackenziLee says:

      I’m going to try really hard to be cool about the fact that Elizabeth Wein just commented on my blog….
      Thank you!!! I am really excited about it (if the post didn’t make that clear:) And a comment from my favorite author was really just the icing on the cake of this already amazing day! Thanks again.

    • MackenziLee says:

      You might be a normal human, but you’re pretty sensational in my opinion :)

  4. annastan says:

    I can’t tell you how excited I am for you! This is fantastic and so well-deserved after all your work on this book!

  5. M G HAHNEL says:

    Mack……..Great month…graduation, trip w/your family, internship, award w/not only recognition but money and now this. No wonder you are dancing ! I am not at all surprised that all of this came your way. You deserve it all. Enjoy. My humble congratulations. Date: Tue, 17 Jun 2014 14:48:23 +0000 To: mghah@msn.com

  6. DELL HEWEY says:

    I am so very happy for you!! You deserve this honor so much. Dell

  7. jodimeadows says:

    Congratulations!! You’re going to love working with Laurel and the whole team at KTB. :D

    • MackenziLee says:

      OMG Jodi! Hi! *fangirls*

      I am super excited to be with KT! They’ve been wonderful so far. And so honored to be on the same list as amazing people like yourself :)

  8. Victoria Coe says:

    Wow-ee! Major congratulations! Super happy for you! And amazed that you were able to keep the secret. Can’t wait to read the book.

  9. HOORAY!!!!! Oh my gosh, this is so freaking exciting!!! I’m so happy for you! Congratulations!! I can’t wait to go pick it up off the shelves!! (Or rather, more likely download it to my kindle since I don’t have any English bookstores – ha. Oh my gosh it’s gonna be on kindle right?! Otherwise how can I read it?!)

  10. WooooOooooo!!

    So awesome.

    xox

  11. […] to Switzerland and New York and Southern Utah and a private island in Maine. Got a big award and a book deal and an MFA. Read 186 books. Wrote a book. Revised another two. Learned to do aerials silks and shoot […]

Leave a Reply

