in which my blog turns two

For the second year in a row, I totally missed my blog’s birthday. For shame.

But in the wake of that missed anniversary, I started thinking about what this blog is, exactly.

Lots of people start blogs, post twice, and then abandon them because, let’s be real, blogging is a lot of work. Lots of people think blogging will be easy, but it’s not. I hear a lot of writers express how much they don’t like blogging and so they don’t do it. I also hear people say that blogging is a waste of time because every word on your blog is a word not written in your novel. I also hear people say your blog has to be something. It has to have a brand. You have to be a book review blog, or a writer blog, or a personal blog, or a DIY blog, or a photography blog. You have to be a thing, or people get confused and don’t know what you are and go somewhere else where lines are more clearly drawn.

I admit—this blog is sort of confusing. It began as a chronicle of my days as an NPR intern, then transitioned into me as grad student, and now is sort of a chronicle of a writer’s life. I don’t totally know what it is. I might never know, and recently I’ve been trying to figure out what I want it to be.

“You should post more about writing,” I think sometimes. But then I think, “But everyone posts about writing, and I don’t really like writing about writing. It’s too meta.”

“You should post book reviews,” I sometimes think. But then I think, “But my opinions about books usually apply to me and no one else.”

“You shouldn’t post weird stories about your life,” I think sometimes. But then I think, “But I like posting weird stories about my life. They’re fun and different and sometimes too hilarious not to share.”

“You shouldn’t write such pseudo-intellectual posts, because they make you sound pretentious and insufferable,” I sometimes think. But then I think, “But sometimes I have to talk issues out with myself before I can figure out my own opinions, and a blog is a good place to do that.”

“You should be consistent and only write about one thing,” I sometimes think.

“You should make this blog a marketing tool,” I sometimes think.

“You should drink more water because all that Diet Coke is rotting your insides,” I sometimes think.

But then I think, “But I like Diet Coke so much better.”

What am I saying? I’m saying that I might be the last person on earth who sincerely loves blogging. I feel like I can be sort of unfiltered and unbridledly myself on this blog. This is my voice, a voice I don’t get to use in my fiction, and it’s very different than other things I write, in structure and tone and topic. I talk about what’s on my mind here. Sometimes that’s writing. Sometimes that’s anxiety. Sometimes that’s my family. Sometimes that’s traveling. Sometimes that’s getting my violin fixed by a Bond villain.

Maybe that will someday make me a PR nightmare. But for now, my blog will remain a really awesome mess. Thank you for being here with me, and I hope you continue to enjoy it.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “in which my blog turns two

  1. Maren J. says:

    I wish I blogged….then I could count it as a journal. One day you will read this and you will be so happy that you blogged. I promise. :)
    P.S. Didn’t this start as your adventures in England??????

  2. ariel2417 says:

    Happy blogoversary! I admit that I started out as one of those people who posted a couple and kind of just stopped, but I finally picked it back up again this summer. I redid my whole blog design and I scheduled a lot of reviews beforehand so I wouldn’t be scrambling last minute like I was before. And blogging does take a lot of time, which is why I don’t post reviews every day. But having a blog is a great way to just share your thoughts with others, whether it be about books, life, clothes, whatever! Being part of the blogging community is something that has really opened my mind. I never realized how many book bloggers they are and what a large impact they would have on me. I hope you have many awesome blogging years to come!

    • MackenziLee says:

      What great thoughts on blogging! As an author trying to establish a platform (whatever that means) I get very self conscious about what I should be talking about, but you said it so well. Talk about what you want to talk about and what makes you happy! Thank you for stopping by and for the blogiversary wishes :)

Leave a Reply

