in which I sign off for a time

Hello friends and mortal enemies alike.

First of all, can we talk about the new blog banner? I’m kind of in love with it. It was done by my lovely sister, the MT, and if you like it and/or want one of your own, you can like her page on the Facebook. She really captured my essence, don’t you think? Thoughtful with a hint of conniving. She even gave me Azula eyebrows. Love.

Anyways, to business. Things have been rather grand at Chateau de Lee lately. Grand, but busy, and not conducive to blogging. Some happenings of late:

My friend Rose Tyler and I stayed a week in a lighthouse on an uninhabited island off the coast of Maine1. Marx and I bought not-so-spontaneous airline tickets to Switzerland for October. My new trivia team, Kiss Me Hardy, did moderately well last Monday. I found out I will be teaching a fiction workshop in the fall. Been reading lots, both in and out of work. Trying to maybe whip the tulip novel into something book shaped. Eating a lot of frozen yogurt now that the frozen yogurt shop across the street from me has reopened. Got new glasses. And a new coat. Which I can’t wear yet, because summer.

And then yesterday in the mail, I got a lovely package from my editor at HarperCollins containing my red-lined manuscript and essentially my last chance to make any big changes to my book before it is out of my hands. It makes me want to scream and cry and laugh all at the same time. Scraugh?

So from now until September second, my life belongs to this book and not to this blog, so don’t count on me being around much. Project: Bookshelf will continue as scheduled. In the meantime, you should visit the Fearless Fifteeners, my debut group of YA and MG authors with first novels coming out in 2015, and enter the super awesome end of summer giveaway we are hosting. You might just win a copy of Gris Grimley’s Frankenstein and a piece of steampunk jewelry from me. Or you know, other less awesome things.

Until we meet again.

  1. And did not get murdered, as much as this sounds like the start of every horror movie ever.
Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “in which I sign off for a time

  1. Billy says:

    I am really sorry to hear this but it sounds like it’s for a lot of really good and exciting reasons. I will accept your hiatus, but hurry back.

Leave a Reply

