in which I look back at 2014

I’m not much for end-of-the-year nostalgia, and honestly a bit of a Scrooge about the entire New Years Eve thing, but 20141 has been a Year. Capital-y Year. An extraordinary year that deserves a moment of being remembered.

Not January. Or November. They were far from extraordinary, and were, rather, some of the hardest months I’ve ever had ever. But I worked through them. I worked hard on a lot of things this year. Hard. Passed classes I didn’t think I would. Taught classes I didn’t think I knew how to teach. Got two new scars2, went to Switzerland and New York and Southern Utah and a private island in Maine. Got a big award and a book deal and an MFA. Read 186 books. Wrote a book. Revised another two. Learned to do aerials silks and shoot antique firearms and blow glass. Worked jobs I really loved and jobs I liked significantly less. Met friends and lost friends. Saw some good theater and some terrible movies. Also some good movies.

2014 was a learning year for me. A year with a lot of big changes, like not being in school for the first time ever, and working grown-up jobs where you have to talk to your HR rep about 401K, and revising a book under a deadline and writing another because I was contracted to do it. But I’m starting to think every year is a learning year. It always amazes me when I look back over such a short period of time as a year to see how completely different I am now than I was at the start.

It’s a good life, Hazel Grace.

  1. My publishing brain is so backwards that I definitely typed “2015” instead of “2014.” JK Nope, 2015 has not happened yet.
  2. One from aerial silks, the other from rock scrambling in Maine.
Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “in which I look back at 2014

  1. I like you. Also, you accidentally wrote 2015 in your last big paragraph. :-) Here’s to 2015!

  2. MackenziLee says:

    As of this moment it is Sept. 22!

Leave a Reply

