in which I profess my undying love for books

Today is February 14.

Absolutely nothing special happens today.

Okay, so in actuality, I’m not a bitter single person in denial on Valentine’s Day. I am single, but not bitter or in denial about that fact. I like Valentine’s Day, and I always have, in spite of spending most of them without someone to snuggle1. I have never felt particularly lonely when I’m not dating someone, and I generally use today to express my love for the other things and people around me, even if that love isn’t in a romantic capacity2.

So speaking of other things I love, let’s talk about books.

This year, I would like to write some special valentines to some very special books that I love very much. Because it’s generally my policy to replace as much human interaction as possible with reading, so why not carry that into the holiday of love?

Man I love books.

Mackenzi Lee’s Sappy, Romantic, Gushy Love Letters to Books

 verity

Dear Code Name Verity,

It’s like falling in love, discovering your favorite book.

Love, Mackenzi

 wild things

Dear Where the Wild Things Are,

I’ll eat you up I love you so.

Love, Mackenzi

virginia wolf

Dear Virginia Wolf3,

I’ll paint you a garden any day.

Love, Mackenzi

raven boys

Dear Raven Boys,

Are you Chainsaw, because you came straight out of my dreams?

Love, Mackenzi

leviathan

Dear Leviathan,

Barking spiders!

…that’s all. You’re great.

Love, Mackenzi

 Frankenstein

Dear Frankenstein,

You make me feel ALIVE.

Love, Mackenzi

dosab

Dear Daughter of Smoke and Bone,

Let’s have a night of cake and puppets.

Love, Mackenzi

bloody jack

Dear Jacky Faber,

I ship4 you and me.

Love, Mackenzi

night cirucs

Dear Night Circus,

My love for you is black and white.

Love, Mackenzi

tfios

Dear Fault in Our Stars,

I fell in love with you the way you fall asleep–slowly, then all at once.

And then I cried a lot, okay?

Love, Mackenzi

Happy V-day from my bookshelf to yours.

Leave your own book valentines in comments!

  1. Unless you count my stuffed Appa, and I do.
  2. I did have grand plans to go see a matinee of The Last Five Years by myself on Valentine’s Day, like a boss, but that plan was foiled because it hasn’t come out yet. CURSES.
  3. The feel-inducing picture book, not the depressed authoress.
  4. Get it? Ship? These are pirate books, in case that wasn’t clear.
Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “in which I profess my undying love for books

  1. I haven’t read Leviathan or Code Name Verity and I know, I should be ashamed. All the others are fantastic books! Great list. Side question? Will do you think you might get a cover for your book? Laughing. I am waiting.

  2. Billy says:

    Is there a better Valentine’s than curling up with your old and new friends…

  3. Oh my gods, The Night Circus and TFIOS! I wish I thot of this idea! And that “you make me feel ALIVE”… Swoon! Go Team Bookish Valentine!

  4. cometparty says:

    Dear THIS MONSTROUS THING,
    You are clever AND good. And I adore you.
    love,
    Camille xoxox

Leave a Reply

