in which the THIS MONSTROUS COLORING CONTEST is announced

A few weeks ago, I made an acquisition.

color your own

The Color Your Own Graphic Novel version of Frankenstein, adapted and illustrated by John Green. No, not that John Green. Though that would be awesome.

I must do something awesome with this, I thought. And then I looked at the stack of This Monstrous Thing ARCs on my desk.

And an evil plan began to take shape in my mind.

Friends, This Monstrous Thing drops in almost exactly two months. And I still have some advanced copies that I’d like to giveaway. Want to win one of these advanced copies? Now you can!

Announcing the THIS MONSTROUS COLORING CONTEST!

Here’s how to enter:

  1. Pick one (or both, if you’re ambitious) of the images from the Frankenstein graphic novel. You can find scans of them below, or on Pinterest, or on Twitter.
  2. Color them. With your markers. Or crayons. Or fingerpaints. Or on the computer. Extra points for creativity and TMT references and Frankenstein references and glitter and coloring outside the lines.
  3. Get your colored entry to me by August 1. You can do this many ways–Twitter, send it to me on Pinterest, Facebook, email it to me (themackenzilee(at)gmail(dot)com). Scan it, take a picture with your phone, take a picture of you with it, send it via owl–whatever floats your boat. If you mail me your hard copies, that would probably make my life and I will hang them on my wall.
  4. Wait anxiously for me and my panel of anonymous judges (probably myself and the MT) to make our selection of the winners.

The winner of the coloring contest will receive…

  • An ARC of THIS MONSTROUS THING, signed by the author. I have an in.
  • A copy of the Color Your Own Graphic Novel Frankenstein
  • A copy of Frankenstein. Not signed by the author. Sorry.
  • THIS MONSTROUS THING swag
  • I will probably color a picture for you. Or draw you something. Whatever. It will be awesome.

Two runners up will receive….

  • A copy of the Color Your Own Graphic Novel Frankenstein
  • THIS MONSTROUS THING swag

ALL ENTRANTS will receive swag from THIS MONSTROUS THING.

Here are the two images you can choose from. All images copyright 2010 by Dover Publications, image credit to John Green. No, not that John Green. Click for a larger version.

#1: Victor and the Creature in the lab as Victor beholds the accomplishment of his toils:

coloring contest-1-HQ

#2:(Sincerely my favorite thing anyone has ever drawn ever) The Creature frolicking through nature: 

Coloring contest 2 HQ

So that’s all you have to do–color! And you might win yourself some free books.

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “in which the THIS MONSTROUS COLORING CONTEST is announced

  1. This is all terribly exciting. What’s the deadline for finished pictures?

  2. Beatrice says:

    Why haven’t I heard of this earlier? This could have been the most fun contest I’ve entered. :(

Leave a Reply

